Spielberg’s Cannes Jury Goes “Blue”


One of the most acclaimed, and intriguing, films at Cannes this year was the French lesbian coming-of-age drama “Blue is the Warmest Color,” and the predictions were correct: Steven Spielberg’s jury has awarded “Blue” the Palme d’Or. It instantly rockets to the top of my hope-it-plays-TIFF list.

The Playlist has the complete winners list; here is a rundown:

  • Palme d’Or: “Blue is the Warmest Color,” Director: Abdellatif Kechiche (also shared by stars Adéle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux)
  • Grand Prix: “Inside Llewyn Davis,” Director: Joel and Ethan Coen
  • Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director): Amat Escalante, “Heli”
  • ‘A Touch of Sin’Prix du Scenario (best screenplay): “A Touch of Sin,” Writer: Jia Zhangke
  • Camera d’Or (best first feature): “Ilo Ilo,” Director: Anthony Chen
  • Prix du Jury (jury prize): “Like Father, Like Son,” Director: Kore-Eda Hirokazu
  • Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress): Berenice Bejo, “The Past”
  • Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor): Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”

Leave a Reply